The European schools in Brussels

The European Schools in Brussels

​The European Schools are official educational establishments controlled jointly by the governments of the Member States of the European Union. They are legally regarded as public institutions in all of these countries.
The mission of the European Schools is to provide a multilingual and multicultural education for nursery, primary and secondary level pupils. They are aimed primarily for children of staff of the European institutions. Across Europe,There are currently 13 European Schools in six countries (Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Italy, Spain and Luxembourg).

4 of them are located in Brussels:

A fifth European school will be built in Brussels by 2028. This school will be located in the municipality of Neder-Over-Heembeek.

european schools in Brussels

Terms and conditions of admission

The European Schools were set up to provide education primarily for the children of employees of EU Institutions. A limited number of places is available for other pupils for which application should be made directly to the head of the school.
Education is free for the children of employees of EU Institutions, and of seconded teachers and administrative staff members of the schools. Parents of other children are required to pay school fees fixed by the Board of Governors. The standard fees may vary slightly from school to school. Up-to-date information on fees may be obtained from the schools.
> Price of European schools in Brussels

Accredited European Schools, what difference ?

Accredited European Schools are schools which provide European schooling, of the same type as that currently provided in the European Schools, but within the framework of the Member States’ national schools and hence outside the administrative and financial framework to which the European Schools are subject.
In Belgium, the European School of Brussels – Argenteuil (EEBA) located in Waterloo is the first accredited European Schools. It offers a school curriculum similar to that of the European Schools. However, it’s a private national school and not public school. Since it does not receive any subsidy from the European Commission or the Belgian government, school fees are therefore required. The annual school fees are from 13.500 € / year to 19.500 € / year.

Organisation of studies

The European School system consists of two years of early education (nursery cycle), five years of primary and seven years of secondary education.
Pupils are admitted to the nursery school at the beginning of the school year in September of the calendar year in which the child reaches four years of age and pupils shall be admitted to primary year 1 at the beginning of the school year in September of the calendar year in which the child reaches six years of age.

​​Cycle  ​​Classes Age
​’Early education’ (Nursery) ​1-2 ​4 and 5
​Primary ​1-5 ​6-10
Observation cycle
Pre-orientation cycle
Orientation cycle

The European Baccalaureate cycle comprises the two last years of secondary education (s6 and s7).
This diploma opens the doors to higher education.